NYS Child Abuse Certification

  • Duration:
Certificate:

Finish all lessons and pass final exam

Table of Contents

Viewed
NYS Child Abuse Certification: Introduction
NYS Child Abuse Certification: Definitions of What to Report
NYS Child Abuse Certification: Possible Behavioral And Environmental Characteristics Of Abusive Parents Or Caretakers
NYS Child Abuse Certification: Final Exam

Description

The definition of child abuse will often differ from state to state and government to government. It is therefore crucial for healthcare professionals to know the definitions of abuse in the state(s) in which they live and/or intend to be certified.

The New York State Education Law requires of individuals in specified professions that they be certified in child abuse (i.e. NYS Child Abuse Certification). That is, that they complete approved coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse as a condition of licensure. This training is valid only from a New York State Education Department approved provider. Documentation of having completed two hours of coursework or training is required.

NYS Child Abuse Certification is required for the following professions: Certified Behavior Analyst Assistants, Chiropractors, Creative Arts Therapists, Dental Hygienists, Dentists, Licensed Behavior Analysts, Licensed Clinical Social Workers, Licensed Master Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists, Mental Health Counselors, Optometrists, Physicians, Podiatrists, Psychoanalysts, Psychologists and Registered Nurses. The Law also includes this child abuse training among the requirements for certification or licensure of school administrators/supervisors, school service personnel, and classroom school teachers. All persons applying for such positions must have completed the required coursework or training (totaling 2 hours). The above professionals are required to report when they have reasonable cause to suspect that a child has been abused or maltreated/neglected.

It is important to note that many medical residency programs will frequently not include child abuse certification. Residency training will therefore not satisfy the NYS child abuse training requirement. In addition, someone who completes an out-of-state medical program unregistered by NYS who then receives training in a NYS residency program will have not met the training requirement and must take additional child abuse training from an approved provider.

The State Education Department must receive documentation in the form of an authorized Certification of Completion at the time of re-registration or initial application for certification or licensure.
 

Price

Plan Name Price
Unlimited: $ 30.00
Quiz Status
Viewed
Duration
NYS Child Abuse Certification: Introduction
NYS Child Abuse Certification: Definitions of What to Report
NYS Child Abuse Certification: Possible Behavioral And Environmental Characteristics Of Abusive Parents Or Caretakers
NYS Child Abuse Certification: Final Exam

Contact Us

We are always open for a quick chat!

 info@laboratoryconsultationservices.com

State Approved

  NY State Dept. Education Maryland

Secure Payment